The Settings page is accessed from the “settings” link in the option bar of the Form Designer.
You can also enter this page by rolling over the rows in the Screens Listing screen and clicking "settings" option.
Our platform provides a simple versioning and publishing approach to manage your Forms.
This means that after creating a new Form, you need to Publish the Form to make it eligible for inclusion in a Folder.
Remember that Folders are how you distribute your Forms to your mobile users.
Read more here about managing Folders.
Looking around the Settings screen, on the left you top right will see the publishing option buttons.
When you are looking at a Published or Archived Form, the fields will not be editable.
To make changes to the Form you should use the New Version button to create a new draft version of the Form.
On the right, you will see publishing options, status information and version history.
The Publish button will change your Form to a Published status and will make it available to app users (provided the Form is already in a Folder).
You can only publish a Form when you have created a Form design using the Edit Design screen.
The Lock button allows you to lock the Form for editing by yourself only. All other web users will be able to view the Form but will not be able to edit the Form until you Unlock it. This is useful if you want to have total control over the release of a Form.
The Delete option only shows for Forms that are in Draft status. Once you hit the Publish button, you will notice that the Delete button is replaced by an Archive button. You cannot delete a Form once it is published, you can only archive it (which removes the Form from all app users).
Once you publish a Form, you will notice that a New Version button appears. This allows you to create a new version of the Form and make changes to that version. The Published version remains available to app users and is only replaced once you publish your new version.
- Screen Title:
The title/name of this Screen, will be used for any default display to the app user (e.g. in the title bar).
If you wish to categorize this Screen by a code or other external identifier, see the External Id option.
- Icon to Display:
Select the Icon you'd like your app to display
The description of your screen.
- User Can Keep History:
The number of days that data entries for this Form will remain on the user's device in a read only state. A value of zero means that no history will be stored.
- Display Row Title:
If set, then the answer of the chosen Form field is displayed as the row title in the History and Saved Entries listing screens of the app
- External Id:
Optional field that lets you link/track this Screen against a similar entity in an external system. Required if you are using the API.
- Restrict to Group:
Restricts access to users that belong to the specified User Group
- Word Template (.DOCX):
Upload a Microsoft Word template to use when outputting data for this Form.
Excel Template (.XLSX):
Upload a Microsoft Excel template to use when outputting data for this Form.
Read more about customizing your output using data templates here
- App Display Order:
Controls where this Screen's icon will display on the default start screen of your app.
Icons are ordered from 1 upwards, ties are ordered alphabetically.Controls where this Screen's icon will display on the default start screen of your app.
Icons are ordered from 1 upwards, ties are ordered alphabetically.
- Log User Location:
Whether or not the user's current GPS location (as at filling out this Form) should be logged automatically. The location is returned in the "Completed At" column of the resulting data entry in the Data area.
- Hide From Users:
Prevents this item from being displayed on the default start screen. Useful when this item should only be opened by a User Interaction (e.g. from an icon on an Icon Board screen)
- Do Not Save in Progress Entries:
By default, the app automatically saves progress of Form entries and prompts the user to save or discard changes if they exit the Form prior to upload.
This option disables all in-progress saving and removes the save/discard changes user prompt. Good for scenarios where the Form is purely for navigation purposes, or for 'use it or lose it' cases where Form entries must be captured and submitted immediately.
- Hide Splash Screen:
Hides the title splash screen for this Form, instead going directly to the first page.
- Do Not Upload Data:
Prevents this Form from uploading data entries to the server.
Used for Forms that edit Global Values or for cases where data captured is to be stored on the device only.
- Can Edit Completed Entries:
Allows app users to edit and update completed form entries. Edit is available on the app from the entry history page and OpenEntry interaction. Once the Form Entry Update is applied to the platform all connectors and data source bindings will be reprocessed.